I am not perfect. I’ve lied and I’ve cheated. I’ve procrastinated far too often and shown up late when I didn’t want to come.

I am not perfect. I act stupid and weird. I say things I don’t mean and I get overly attached.

I am not perfect. I have zits and blemishes across my face and stretch-lines covering my stomach and thighs. I have yellow teeth and a double chin.

I am not perfect. I’ve been hypocritical and I’ve lashed out at those I love. I do not do great in school and I am awkward in social situations.

I am not perfect. I get overly stressed and I talk too much. I feel guilty for the smallest things and I apologize way too often.

I am not perfect. I am short and I slouch. I eat too much and I’m overweight. I have greasy hair and I am pale enough to blend in with a wall.

I am not perfect. I am overly sensitive and I plan way too far in advance. I am afraid to say how I feel even when I have a lot to say.

I am not perfect. I either get too involved or stand on the sidelines – there is no in between. I get anxious, I get jealous, and I get sad.

I am not perfect. I care too deeply and carry others’ problems with me. I’ve failed and I’ve fallen.

 

I am beautiful. I’ve learned from my mistakes. I do what I say I will and I support my friends.

I am beautiful. I allow myself to have fun and I rejoice in the little things. I am emotional and I express my love for family and friends at every chance I get.

I am beautiful. I have gorgeous eyes and great freckles. I have a pretty smile and straight teeth.

I am beautiful. I am dedicated and adoring. I enjoy learning and I like making new friends.

I am beautiful. I am dedicated and I am learning to express my feelings. I am empathetic and compassionate.

I am beautiful. I cook well and share baked goods with friends. I am learning how to love my body, even when I don’t like it.

I am beautiful. I feel things deeply and I am organized. I am considerate of others’ feelings and I write to express my own.

I am beautiful. I am learning to relax and I am passionate. I wish well for others and celebrate my friend’s victories.

I am beautiful. I am overprotective and devoted. I love others deeply and with all my heart. I do my best and I get back up when I fall.

I am not perfect, but I am beautiful.

 

I have been focusing a lot on the negative things about myself lately and, honestly, they’ve bothered me more than they probably should. I started writing them down in hopes that I could get the negative thoughts out of my head. When I sat down and truly thought about what I was writing, I found that, for every negative thing I wrote, could put it into something positive. I am not perfect, but perfection is not the goal in life. Marilyn Monroe once said, “imperfection is beauty, madness is genius, and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” Each and every one of us is beautiful and special in so many ways. So, when you have times where you are struggling to see the beauty in yourself, I encourage you to try this. I’ll be the first to admit that it’s hard and sort of scary, but it’s so worth it in the end. Even if you can’t believe the positives today, look again tomorrow, and the next day, and as many days after that as it takes. Because, eventually, you will believe them. You are not perfect, nobody is. But you are beautiful in more ways than I can tell you and I hope, one day, you can see that beauty for yourself. Because your beauty, my friend, is blinding.

2 thoughts on “I Am Not Perfect

  1. Cassidi,

    You are beautiful! I love what you wrote and how you continue to grow and love yourself. This time in your life is a journey to finding the person you are going to be. Your style, your passions, your personality, and your career will all blossom as you grow in so many ways. You are experiencing a time in your life that is molding you into the confident women you want to be. You begin to notice what you love about yourself, recognize what you don’t, and improve on the things you want to change about yourself. I think you are just beginning a beautiful journey and I couldn’t be more proud of you!

    With all my love,
    Ash

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

