When did “fat” became a synonym for ugly? When did our society decide that the worst thing you can call a girl is “fat”? Can’t we be a bit more creative with our insults? What about “selfish” or “shallow”? Why is “fat” worse than being “malicious” or “narrow-minded”? The short answer: it’s not.

Today’s society has turned “fat” into a “dirty” word. “Fat” is a word that everyone is hesitant to say unless you’re using it as an insult. People use words like “heavy-set” or “on the larger side” to describe people who are fat in a so-called “respectful” way.

As a person who is just under five and a half feet tall and weighs 185 pounds, I consider myself to be fat. As does the rest of society. There are things I want to change about myself: I want to lose weight to be healthier, I think my thighs and stomach are too big, and to say I have a double chin is an understatement. However, this does not mean that I think I’m ugly. My eyes are this magical shade of green that change to gold when I wear certain clothes or am in certain lighting. I am creative, compassionate, intelligent, respectful, and more. My beauty, and the beauty of others, is in no way based on how I look on the outside – or at least it shouldn’t be.

Here’s the thing that I keep reminding myself: I am on a journey. Spiritually, emotionally, and physically. I am learning who I am as a person and what characteristics I like and don’t like about my personality. I’m learning how to eat healthier and be more active. I’m learning the physical limitations of my body. I’m learning where my beliefs fit with others and what parts of them stand out in the world. This journey has a ton of ups and downs and society likes to focus on the downs. Society likes to nitpick all of our so-called ‘flaws” and tries to convince us that the opinions of society are fact. Well, let me tell you something: Ugly is an opinion, not a fact. Please, never forget that.

Leave a Reply

