Most people know that a large portion of my friends are part of the LGBTQIA+ community. On Friday, many pages of the White House website were taken down or altered. One of the biggest ones that caught my attention was the page for LGBTQ rights. I was in a group with my friends in this wonderful community just minutes before finding out that the page had been deleted. I do know, however, that this event hurt a lot of people. You may say that the fact that people’s feelings were hurt by this means they are weak or overly sensitive. However, for the people in this community, having a page on the White House website was a crucial step in demonstrating the progress our society has made in their rights. I don’t understand why something representing this amazing group of people was erased from the website. I don’t know the reasoning behind the disappearance of the page nor have I investigated further. To me and many people I spoke to, this represents the idea of the LGBTQIA+ community being erased from the minds of those at the top of our government. I can only hope that this page is being renovated and will be put back up along with the other pages that were removed (although I don’t really believe this is the case).

To my friends in the LGBTQIA+ community, regardless of what our government tells you about your existence, your value, or your worth, know that, to me, you are loved, respected, and cherished always and forever. Please, please, please, don’t forget that. Don’t let the negativity tear you down. Keep being the beautifully amazing people that you are. And please remember that, whatever you need – someone to talk to, a hug, a shoulder to cry on, some to listen, anything and everything you need – I am here with an open heart, an open mind, and open arms. You will always have a special place in my heart where you are loved unconditionally and the rainbow flag flies high.

Leave a Reply

