Welcome, Mr. President

Last weekend was filled with an overwhelming amount of emotions for many Americans. The inauguration of our 45th president brought up extreme emotions that varied greatly. For many, President Trump’s inauguration was a momentous event of joy, excitement, and hope. Bidding farewell to Former President Obama brought some people happiness beyond belief. Some people could not have been more excited to see him go. Others, however, found fear in this election. The inauguration of President Trump made them scared for what would become of our country and saying goodbye to Former President Obama made them feel as though they were experiencing the loss of a family member or close friend. I’m not here today to teach people what they should think towards this political confliction. My point today, is to make it clear to everyone that respect is essential in this crucial time for American politics.

Some of you know that I did not support President Trump in this election. However, this does not necessarily mean I supported Secretary Clinton. The truth is, I didn’t do research on every single policy and issue that was discussed. The reasoning behind my support (or lack-there-of) for candidates was based almost exclusively on the moral compass that each person displayed to the public. While these clearly are not full views into the people the candidates truly are, I did the best with the information I was directly presented with. Because it was my first election, I couldn’t vote out from out of state, so I don’t have any room to complain about or celebrate the inauguration.

For those of you that support President Trump, I congratulate you in your time of excitement and joy. For those of you that do not, I hope you know I am here to support you in any way that I can. I’m not going to complain about the fact that our 45th president is Donald Trump. I’m also not going to celebrate his big win. I will not make rude comments about his family as they are individual beings and have not expressed the same things he has that have caused me to not support him. I will not ridicule his wife and 10-year-old son as so many have. I will not wish for him to fail because wishing for this also means I want our country to crumble and that is the last thing I want to come from this inauguration.

I will, however, say that I hope that he and the members of congress make the best decisions that they know how. I hope that President Trump does the best he can in his position of power. I pray that he listens to the issues the American people bring to his attention and helps us in solving the issues in the most beneficial way possible. So, despite the fact that I don’t support all of his beliefs or morals or values, I truly do wish him the best in his presidency.

Leave a Reply

