In today’s society, we tend to be overly cautious about hurting people’s feelings. We don’t want to state our opinions for fear of losing friends because of them. We don’t want to express disagreement with those close to us because god forbid we don’t have the exact same values as everyone around us. Often times we don’t want to hear others’ opinions because it usually leads to us questioning our own thoughts. Maybe we’re too sensitive or maybe we’re just to dead set on being right. Whatever it is, we should probably get over it because we’re discouraging a lot of people from sharing very valuable thoughts.
Here’s the thing, if I’m having a conversation with you, I would prefer you tell me your opinions. Am I wrong? Great, tell me why! Do you think about that particular subject differently? Wonderful! Tell me about it, teach me, let me learn from you. I don’t like your favorite professor? Okay, tell me why you like them. Maybe you’ll change my mind, maybe you won’t. But at least I’ll understand why you think that way about them. I for one never want anyone to think I am so closed minded that they can’t share their opinions if they’re different than my own. Here’s the thing: you have to let people tell you their side of things. How else are we supposed to learn? If we are constantly too scared to share our opinions or too closed minded to hear the opinions of others, we will never learn anything. We’ll never be able to see things from a different point of view. I’m not saying that my opinion will completely change when we have an open conversation, but I will be able to appreciate where you’re coming from or, at the very least, understand your views.
If you are someone who has trouble accepting disagreement, that’s okay! There’s nothing wrong with that as long as you are doing your best to be accepting. Do your best to understand that not everyone will agree with you. Do your best to challenge yourself to have difficult conversations that might make you uncomfortable. Just do your best. That’s all we can ask of anyone.
So, tell me that you disagree. Don’t treat me like a piece of glass that will shatter into a million pieces at the thought that someone doesn’t agree with my views. Teach me about why you think differently than me. Let me learn about you and the things you believe in. Help me to understand this new side to things. I want to learn. I want to be open minded. I want to hear you. So please, dare to disagree with me.

Leave a Reply

