I’ve had quite a few conversations with different people about the ideas of changing our pasts. In one conversation, we talked about what we would do if someone came up to us and gave us the chance to change things in our pasts. Without giving it much thought, I would say yes. There are plenty of things I have done in the past that I wish I could take back and some things that others have done to me that I wish I could forget about. However, the reality is that the past doesn’t change for anyone. All we can do is make sure that we use the things in our past to help us build our future. The fact that I lied a lot as a kid has helped me to appreciate how hard it can be to be honest and, when someone is honest with me, I truly value it. Some of the things that have happened to me in my past have helped me to understand the importance of compassion, trust, and understanding. So, yes, there are many things I can look at in my past and want to get rid of. I can nitpick at quite a few different parts of my life and say I want to change these things or completely get rid of them. However, the reality is that our pasts make us who we are. I wouldn’t be half the person I am today had I not experienced the things I did during my childhood. The things I experience are why I’m here today so, to change them, would change me. So, sure, there are things I don’t love about my past, but when I look at who I am today, I’m proud of the past I’ve had and the person it has helped to create.

Leave a Reply

