It honestly blows my mind that the end of the semester is so close. It’s crazy to think that, only eight months ago, we were moving into this apartment knowing that it would be our home for this year. We turned blank walls and empty seats into a home. A home that I, in all honesty, cherished more than ever I thought I would.

I’m going to be completely honest: I had pretty low expectations when I moved in. I didn’t want to get my hopes up too high on the possibility that me and these roommates would all be best friends. We had no way to predict what our relationships with other roommates would look like. In all honesty, I was fully prepared for us to be roommates and nothing more. It didn’t take long for me to realize, however, that we were clicking. As unexpected as it was, I was so pleasantly surprised when I realized that the conversations we were having and things we were doing were more than just “roommate things”. This was friendship. True, honest, unfiltered friendship.

It popped up in my Facebook memories this weekend that, exactly a year ago, I met up with all of my roommates. These people -three of which were once complete and total strangers to me – are now some of my greatest supporters, my best friends, my family. I don’t know where I would be without them. This year has been full of losses, frustrations, illnesses, and overall craziness. These lovely human beings have kept me sane (as much as possible) for the entire year. I learned more about myself this year than I ever thought was possible and most of that can be attributed to the fact that I have lived with people who allow me to be myself without fail. They have let me be my true self even when I had no idea what that really meant. They’ve let me blab, rant, and make absolutely no sense all for the sake of (hopefully) coming to some sort of beneficial conclusion. No matter what it is, they have supported me one hundred and ten percent.

These people have driven me around Nashville for no reason, had deep and personal conversations at 3am, made me laugh till I cried, been a shoulder to cry on, dyed my hair, cut my hair, made me dinner, baked with me and for me, helped me with school, gone to intimidating meetings with me, given me hugs without question, and so much more. I don’t know how I would have survived the semester without them.

So, here’s to wonderful roommates, Dickens Apartment 412, and all the memories the two have brought. Thank you for teaching me more about true friendship than I ever realized was possible. The appreciation I have for my four fabulous roommates is more than what I can express through words, but I hope you all know how much you mean to me. Love you guys. Thanks for an amazing year.

Leave a Reply

