This summer, since about halfway through my second week back in St. Louis, I have been longing to be back in Nashville. Not that I wanted to deal with humidity percentages in the 80s or temperatures in the nineties, but the place itself. I genuinely have missed the entire atmosphere of this city. Being away from my friends this summer has been so much harder than I ever expected it to be. Right now, as I sit behind the desk in a dorm building on campus, things feel right. As weird as it sounds, I genuinely miss my job on ResLife staff. Being on campus just feels…right. It feels like its where I’m supposed to be. Driving around Nashville has a comforting sense of familiarity which sounds so weird considering I’ve only lived here for 17 months total and I’ve lived in St. Louis for my entire life. I’ve been referring to St. Louis as “home” for as long as I can remember, but it doesn’t quite feel right anymore. For some reason, saying “my hometown” or “childhood home” sounds okay to me and, it’s taken me a few months, but I’m finally okay with that. So, when I leave Nashville on Wednesday, I won’t be “going home” because Nashville is home now. I’ll be going back to my hometown, just for a month, while I finish up my summer job and get all of my belongings ready to move home.

Leave a Reply

